Friendship

What really bothers me are friends who claim they want to spend time with you, and always want to spend time with you, but never want to make the time out of their schedule to do it. You always have to comply. You always have to change your plans or work them into your schedule because they won’t return the same courtesy.

I have a certain friend in mind. I have my days scheduled for the next month… preparing and visiting with friends and family one last time before I, ya know, move to Japan. I have a going away party on the 9th of April and have invited the closest people to me to the party–so I invited her. She said “maybe attending” when I invited them, which was a few weeks ago, so I asked today if she would be attending. She sounds like she’s leaning away from attending and I’m beyond pissed. Every time I have seen her since I have known her, I have always been the one bending my plans and my day so it works for her. She has never worked with me.

“Can we meet after the 12th? I have a presentation that day.”

Um… How about you work on your presentation between now and then and spend some time out of your BUSY schedule to come to a going away party that is only going to be a few hours long. I know it may sound like I’m making a mountain out of a mole hill, but if you’ve ever had to deal with someone who just only made plans around her convenience with no regard for anyone elses’ and made it sound like you SHOULD make the time for her… you’d understand where I’m coming from.

Normally I’m alright with bending and altering my plans for friends, but I’m moving to Japan. Every weekend is planned out and the time in between my boyfriend and I want to spend quality time together before I am gone for a year. I understand the importance of visiting friends, and I am trying to do that, but if you aren’t willing to work WITH me–meeting up isn’t happening. It just ain’t.

Anyways, I think that’s enough of a rant.

Leave a Reply

